Blessing the Baby

When my upstairs neighbor invites me to her baby shower, 

                I feel guilty about forgetting to bring in my recycling bins, 

again. I am a bad neighbor, but she’s going to be a mother 

                so she’ll have to practice forgiveness on someone first. Usually, 

I’m a people pleaser. I am a people. I was born 

                with all the people I could ever create, inside me. I try 

to forgive them—their dirty handprints on my skirt, the towels

                left on the bathroom floor. We blessed the baby 

while we tied around our wrists one long, red string. 

                For a moment, the string connected us—wives, mothers, 

and me, neither—until it didn’t, until the scissors severed 

                us, made a bracelet of the blood string. I told the baby, 

I give you this wrist. The world will break all your blessings

                if it wants, and believe me, baby, most of the time, it wants.

Credit

Copyright © 2024 by Diannely Antigua. Originally published in Poem-a-Day on March 1, 2024, by the Academy of American Poets. 

In the “About the Poem” that follows Diannely Antigua’s offering, she admits her initial reluctance to attend, imagining those piled-high presents and inane baby shower games. She describes her after-being-there reaction as “witchy and wonderful.” I would’ve gone with “magical and marvelous,” but I didn’t write the poem; I only wish I had!

Of course as a soon-to-be grandmother this ceremony appeals to me, so I begin to investigate. Where are its roots? You can go to KarmaLuck to learn more than you ever wanted to know with a slick but undeniable merchandising purpose. Just reading it is exhausting, and the flagrant commercial pitch off-putting.

I’m thinking this website may have used AI to generate copy because I did:

“Wearing a red bracelet is a tradition in many cultures and has various meanings depending on the context. Here are a few examples:

  1. Kabbalah Red String: In Kabbalistic tradition, wearing a thin red string around the left wrist is believed to ward off misfortune brought about by the “evil eye.” It is also thought to bring good luck, health, and protection.
  2. Hinduism: In Hindu culture, a red thread, known as Mauli or Kalava, is tied around the wrist during religious ceremonies and festivals. It is believed to protect the wearer and ward off evil.
  3. Buddhism: In some Buddhist traditions, a red string bracelet is worn as a reminder of positive intentions and mindfulness. It is often blessed by a monk and can symbolize protection and blessings.
  4. Chinese Culture: In Chinese culture, red is a symbol of good luck and prosperity. Red strings or bracelets are often given as gifts during holidays or special occasions to bring good fortune.
  5. Protection: In general, across many cultures, the color red is associated with protection and warding off evil spirits. Wearing a red bracelet can be a personal choice to feel more secure or to symbolize protection.

Overall, the tradition of wearing a red bracelet is deeply rooted in symbolism and cultural beliefs, often related to protection, good luck, and spiritual well-being.”

(Information from ChatGPT3.5)

After an extensive sales assault with a variety of options for purchasing string bracelets, I realize that while I love the idea of a shared intention, a blessing for our newcomer, I don’t want to purchase a symbolic representation. Have I mentioned that I am the least crafty person alive, that despite the elaborate and impressive visions I hold of finished products, the actuality never nears them?

Nonetheless, I head to You Tube and find a tutorial that offers a less threatening version of an “Adjustable Red String Bracelet.” I think, “I can do this, at least I can give it a go.” Will I make one for everyone who shows up at the celebratory Baby-que headed our way in April? I doubt it, but…you never know.

16 thoughts on “Blessing the Baby”

  1. Thanks, Trish! I’ll bookmark the video for my crafty girls, Anela and Kira. Am I presumptuous in “expecting” a Baby-que (cute) invitation from you “expectant” women?

  2. Before my husband and I got matching red thread tattoos we had bracelets we wore! We follow the red thread of fate idea: The Red Thread of Fate is an East Asian belief that an invisible red thread connects people who are destined to meet and be each other’s true love. It is also known as the Red Thread of Marriage. The thread is attached to people at birth, and may stretch or tangle but will never break.

    1. I love this! Yesterday you suggested to write about green, but I’ll be doing a post about red later this week I think/hope, so thanks!

  3. The idea that a red thread ties and binds people together is comforting because you never have to feel that you are alone no matter what life throws at you. I have great faith in you that you will be able to craft the bracelets and they will turn out fine Happy crafting.

  4. Baby showers can be less than fun but then again, some can be so very special. I watched the video for the red bracelet…you can definitely do it Trish. I am going to give it a try too. Would be fun to share with my grandkids!! Had no idea about the similar meanings of red and red bracelets in so many cultures. Thanks!!!

    Oh, are you having one of those showers for Alex? Keep me in the loop if you do!!! xo

      1. Wonderful! Just got it from Sam…hope to make it! Ok to stay there even if you are doing shower??

  5. You connected it all here, Trish: a powerful poem, a symbolic bracelet for protection, a baby-que, and ultimately a beautiful, healthy grandchild! Wonderful post. Congratulations!

  6. What a loving and fun idea! I had no idea that there were so many traditions about red bracelets, each of them new to me. But, baby showers – ahhh, these are so sweet. Congrats on your new little one-to-be! Thank you for sharing that poem – how I love the line, “I give you this wrist. The world will break all your blessings.” That’s really all we can do for one another – reach out and help, “I give you this wrist.” Gorgeous!

  7. Trish, very interesting post. I had never heard of such a thing. I like how you choose a topic and then really explore it! The poem was amazing. Especially “I was born / with all the people I could ever create, inside me.”

    I can see letting everyone make a bracelet at a baby shower. It does look easy. (And I agree, I get so turned off my the commercialization of EVERYTHING!

Leave a comment