Just the Right Words…

What to choose? What to choose? Tomorrow is “Commit a Poem to Pavement,” at our local Literacy Park throughout the day. Color chalk will be available and all are invited, encouraged, enjoined to scribe a line or two of a well-loved poem on the sidewalk near the library. This day-long event is one of the activities offered by the Newport Library, and adds to the month-long “poem-in-your-pocket” push. (Did you know that the official date for carrying a poem and sharing it with others is Thursday, April 18th?)

I plan to be there tomorrow. The opening question, “What to choose?” I pondered in earnest until yesterday morning. Now I have my answer, and as so often happens, it came in slant.

My son and daughter-in-love are having their celebratory “Baby-Que” this Saturday for their soon-to-be-here son, my first grand-baby, his projected arrival date of June 4th. It’s a couples celebration at the beach, emphasis on “celebration” and “beach”; the baby just gave them a joyous excuse!

I have done little to help with the ‘Que; I figure my role will (hopefully) increase a bit as babysitter in the time to come. When I offered to make an additional dessert, a back-up to the cake, I volunteered cookies. I have quite a bunch of winners to my credit, but yesterday morning the idea seized me: What about some specially designed ones? Wouldn’t that be fun?

I found a place with rave reviews online located in the town where they live, easy for them to pick up as they head to the coast. The website was professional and appealing, understated and —okay, I’ll admit it, no spelling mistakes, an important consideration for me! I filled out the contact form, realizing that I was pushing the timeframe “Cookie Hugs” laid out. Oh well, I could certainly bake cookies if they couldn’t, so why not ask?

In less than an hour, I received a call in response to my inquiry. I do love responsive businesses. There seems to be a dearth of them lately, so the cheery voice on the line was its own kind of embrace. We chatted for a bit. I acknowledged how this was a last-minute decision, that I’d totally understand if she were unable to accommodate my request.

“Oh no, Trish,” she bubbled, “I’m excited to help you with this for your kids’ party, glad to be a part of it. I just love making cookies.” Her voice carried sincere enthusiasm, matter-of-fact pride in her chosen work. We settled the details, and after I hung up, I knew the poem, and the lines to commit to pavement.

The entire poem by Marge Piercy is a longtime favorite of mine, one I have in my head and heart. Do you know, “To Be of Use“? It was added to my 2018-19 journal:

As soon as I heard Valere’s words, her passion about baking an echo of mine about teaching, about living, I knew I had my lines:

“The pitcher cries for water to carry

and a person for work that is real.”

Just the right words…

14 thoughts on “Just the Right Words…”

  1. I love the idea of writing lines of poetry on the pavement at the park. It will be interesting to read what poems are selected. I would also like to know the reason someone chose the particular lines they did. I am sure that there are great stories there.

    1. Yes, just like this one, right?! It was hard getting going today. Do these Tuesdays come faster than they used to? I will be snapping photos and hoping rain will stay away.

  2. This is beautiful writing. I enjoyed so many parts like your voice and humor in “…okay, I’ll admit it, no spelling mistakes…”, and excellent and strong word choices like bubbled and dearth. But what stood out the most was your passion for writing and life.

  3. I haven’t celebrated with a poem in my pocket for a long time. I enjoyed learning more about you as you take us through your day of decision-making, that brought a very favorite poem back to your mind. This poem echoes some thinking I have been doing lately, so I especially thank you. And PS I am hoping to see photos of those cookies next Tuesday!

  4. Lovely!!! I needed the little boost today to get on with the projects I have in process…this was it! Love it! Saved it. Thanks for the link although I like your comments on your copy too!! Hope I make it over to see you, the kids, and your cookies!!! l XOXO

  5. Powerful.. Joshua Dyer (aged 14) was tasked at school to write a poem for Remembrance Day. An hour later (without any help) he produced this..

    ONE THOUSAND MEN ARE WALKING
    One thousand men are walking
    Walking side by side
    Singing songs from home
    The spirit as their guide

    They walk toward the light milord,
    they walk towards the sun
    they smoke and laugh and smile together
    no foes to outrun.

    These men live on forever
    in the hearts of those they saved
    a nation truly grateful
    for the path of peace they paved.

    They march as friends and comrades
    but they do not march for war
    step closer to salvation
    a tranquil steady corps
    the meadows lit with golden beams
    a beacon for the brave
    the emerald grass untrampled
    a reward for what they gave.

    They dream of those they left behind
    and know they dream of them
    forever in those poppy fields
    there walks one thousand men

    Joshua Dyer 2019 (aged 14)

    Trish, I saw this on FB and thought of you…beautiful poem and at that age. You more than anyone I know can appreciate what these young people have in their hearts! Xo

  6. Trish, your post has just the right words. I love to hear the motivation and inspiration behind your posts. I can’t wait to see photos of Valere’s cookies. She sounds like a peach, and those sound like the best words to share on the sidewalk. I so love this idea that the literacy park is doing tomorrow. (I am bookmarking your post to remember your idea for our community next year.)

    1. I am so glad you found an idea for your community next year. I can’t wait to see what lines grace the pavement!

Leave a comment