No…Not Wordle, or Connections

(Spoiler Alert: If you complete the New York Times “Flashback Quiz: Your Weekly History Quiz” and have yet to do so this week, 🛑!)

“Can you place eight events in chronological order?” This invitation greets me every Saturday morning, and I accept. Bear with me as I take you back through time.

We are given an anchor event. Today’s is from 1951 when a basketball scandal positioned the NCAA to rise to power over the NIT. “First held in 1938, the NIT was once considered the most prestigious post-season showcase for college basketball before its status was superseded by the mid-1980s by the NCAA Division I men’s basketball tournament.[1][2]” (Wikipedia).

Now the fun begins. Aristotle and his connection to monopoly poses the next challenge. Not really. Aristotle certainly preceded basketball tournaments, of that I’m 100% certain. I drag and tap to its correct position: Circa 330 BCE.

Next Lady Mercians and the Vikings, again not much to doubt. Vikings certainly came after Aristotle and before United States basketball tourneys. 912-17. Right again. Am I feeling smug? Heck no! I’m not even halfway yet.

The first inkling of challenge arrives with the publication year of Maurice Sendak’s classic, Where the Wild Things Are. Before or after 1951? Hmmm. I could Google it, couldn’t I, open a cheater’s window. Yes, but today this post is keeping me honest. I go with after-1951 and am rewarded! 1963 it is.

Hokusai’s unmistakable “The Great Wave” curls on the screen, one of my husband’s favorites. Google’s siren sings in the background, but I resist. After the Vikings? Yes, right? and well before basketball betting, no doubt. When I’m correct, 1831 to be precise, I wonder if some of my husband’s art history knowledge is sinking in.

Okay, it’s getting tougher with the question about the Treaty of Manila. The additional clue about 48 states at the time clinches it. I drag and tap and voilĂ : 1946.

Here I meet my Waterloo (June, 1815, btw) about five decades before Florence and the Crimean War 1860—about which I am woefully ignorant (so many wars). I have conflated her with Clara Barton, the Civil War, and founding the American Red Cross. I place her before Hokusai and RED chastens me. (Oh, Florence, you were right about the hand-washing!)

Are you following this? Here’s what we’ve got so far:

Alexander Pope is up next. Him, I know; all those English classes in college come in handy with the Flashback! Nothing but green as I drag and tap into place. 1711-17.

Last is Pompeii, the eighth event. I’ve taught this, can see an entire village frozen under volcanic flow, ash covering all. Before the Vikings? Absolutely. Before Aristotle? Absolutely not! 79.

And I’m done, 7 out of 8. I’ve done worse. And better still? I’m done with this post 2024.

16 thoughts on “No…Not Wordle, or Connections”

  1. ”Google’s siren call”… yes, indeed! I have come across this puzzle occasionally but you are inspiring me to add it to my routine. You ask, can we have some fun with history? And you demo it.

  2. You are brave to tackle that challenge without the aid of extra help. I would flounder, no doubt. The way you describe the respective clues offers a big window of how the game works and how you reason your way through it. Sounds like fun for those who don’t mind eating a bit of humble pie.

  3. A great way to learn/refresh our knowledge of history. Don’t know how well I would have done. Think I’ll stick with Wordle.

    1. I love Wordle —and Connections, but this leads me in some new directions, and the Times links to articles I wouldn’t have naturally chosen.

  4. Oh, I’m impressed, Trish. It’s not easy putting things in order, especially when there are two or three within a century. You have demonstrated a joyful history experience here. And I thing that your historical knowledge grows as a result, right? I experience that with my geographical knowledge as I play Worldle.

    1. Oh my gosh! I didn’t know there was a Worldle. I absolutely will play it daily. We are too ignorant about the world, all that American elitism! One question, I made me six guesses but can’t locate (😉) the right answer. Is it provided somewhere? I need direction! Thanks for this, Denise.

      1. Are you using it on your phone or computer? I just tried it and after six guesses, it seemed to come up across the top, like on Wordle. I can take a screenshot it you need. Sometimes if I can get 95% of the way there but don’t know the answer, I will go to the map and cheat. The Bonus Rounds are really what have helped me get to know more about the places in the world. They cover neighbors, capital, flag, languages, population, currency, most populated cities and area. Wow! With Wordle, timeline games and Worldle, I often think of my 7th and 8th grade history, geography and language arts students and I wonder if we would have gotten into playing some of these useful games!

      2. I’ll investigate further. I am definitely adding this one to the games I play with the students during homeroom. I also played Connections and Quordle with the OCTE Board last summer at our annual retreat as a community-builder. I’m going to add Worldle now!

  5. Nice 7 out of 8! I have done it a few times…but had kind of forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder!! Just finished Wordle and Connections! Happy Sunday. XO

    1. A fellow blogger just introduced me to Worldle. Have you played it? You and Craig would be excellent at it, I have a feeling. Let me know.😘

      1. I play it every day and ‘share’ with some different friend groups! Also do Connections. Craig is hooked on Spelling Bee…gets Genius most every day and some times “Queen Bee”. Great to talk and catch up! xo

  6. I’d never heard of Flashback, and I had to go try it before reading your post. The Treaty of Manila was my personal Waterloo, though otherwise I got 7 out of 8. Super fun AND educational!

Leave a comment