Tell Me

Image by Dmitriy Gutarev from Pixabay

“‘Always be on the lookout for the presence of wonder.’   E.B. White

Wonder struck at the Oregon Writing Festival, on May 4th. In its 39th year, this annual event spearheaded by the Oregon Council of Teachers of English (OCTE) drew over 350 students from throughout the state to Woodburn High School to pursue the practice, the craft, of writing. In the offering of one young author:

‘What makes a writer?

People that choose to write

the time they take

the effort into each and every word

makes a writer.’

              —–Layla Gardner

 It was my first experience; it will not be my last!”

So begins the article I am submitting to the OCTE Chalkboard newsletter, a quarterly publication , as a required “Note from the President.” I have no doubts about the essence of this lede, though perhaps the White quote indicates my audience. What I worry about is the paragraphs that follow. Am I too preachy? Will I antagonize the very audience I want to herald? It continues:

“What we pay attention to dictates our state of mind, and it is so easy in an uncertain world, beleaguered and often disenchanted, to focus on the negative. This Saturday in May emphasized the counter-narrative. Volunteers accompanied groups of students as they attended workshops, listened to inspirational authors, and shared their writing with peers.

Reflections from participants captured their rapture. ‘The students? They’re amazing, just amazing. Aren’t they?’

‘Why wouldn’t I give up a Saturday to my students? They show up as writers everyday for me!’

‘My daughter reluctantly attended when she was in fifth grade. Now she’s a sophomore, and says the festival changed her writing life. She still talks about it.’

‘It’s the energy. I go back to class full of it!’

As the last workshop ended, clusters of students gathered by the booksellers’ tables, wended  their way to awaiting parents, paused to compare notes. ‘I’m coming back next year-for sure. Are you gonna be here?’ Eyes wide with wonder!

May the end of the year, the summer respite, be wonder-full!”

Of course I believe what I write. I am heartened, perhaps unduly, by an event like the writing festival. At this point, I substitute very selectively. I cannot ignore the challenges that exist for many (dare I say most?) teachers wherever I go. Do I see what I think could be done differently—and maybe with a better outcome? Of course I do, but my full-time career is over. I am a guest, a visitor. I do not want to pretend to know it all, or prescribe cures for those dealing with current daily ills.

I want to be a cheerleader, and when I see something positive, I want to celebrate it. I hear the echo of Mary Oliver’s words, “Tell me, what else should I have done?…Tell me, what is it you plan to do/with your one wild and precious life?” I plan to share wonder.

5 thoughts on “Tell Me”

  1. It is wonderful to have so many students participate in a day of writing. To hear students say that they are already planning to return next year shows the need for something like this and the worthwhile experience had by students and teachers alike. Congratulations.

  2. I can sense the transformative power of the festival and the inspiring testimonials from attendees. You conveyed the importance of paying attention to the positive amidst a world filled with uncertainty. The closing reference to Mary Oliver’s words underscores your commitment to embracing and sharing wonder in your own wild and precious life.

  3. It’s so important to celebrate the good things, particularly when there is so much darkness. Students excited about writing is cause for ample celebration. We can acknowledge the barriers and still see the wonders large and small that occur when we come together around common cause, in this case, the appreciation of writing, writers and community. Congratulations!

  4. Love this, Trish. I’m still in the trenches, but knowing the day for me to step away will come too fast. Your post gives me insight and guidance. Thanks! That Mary Oliver quote is painted on the wall of my office!

  5. HI…another beautiful one! I was telling Mary about your blog and she wanted to know how she could access it. Thought you might want to connect her to it. XOXO Oh, Mary said the Dr. said that her leg was doing great and to keep doing what she was doing! 🙂

    >

Leave a comment