Come What May

And this from “On Work” by Kahlil Gibran:

“…And what is it work with love?
It is to weave the cloth with threads drawn from your heart, even as if your beloved were to wear that cloth.
It is to build a house with affection, even as if your beloved were to dwell in that house.
It is to sow seeds with tenderness and reap the harvest with joy, even as if your beloved were to eat the fruit.
It is to charge all things you fashion with a breath of your own spirit,
And to know that all the blessed dead are standing about you and watching.”

What day of the week welcomed you to this world? In searching, not having been very day-conscious at the moment of arrival, I discovered that Saturday opened its arms for me. What the nursery rhyme says about personality traits is certainly true for me. That alone is less important than the words of Gibran that follow. I have been lucky to “work with love.”

I’m thinking about this today because it is the official due date of my first grandchild. Were he to arrive today, looking less and less likely, he’d arrive on the same day as his parents, both of them Tuesday’s children, both of them, “full of grace.” I hear that word bandied about these days—grace—and perhaps because of its religious overtones, I tend not to use it.

When I think about the word and consider its range, I realize that my two “Tuesday’s children” also embody their nursery rhyme characterizations fairly well. They were married on a Tuesday, also, in the middle of the redwoods during the pandemic surrounded by their immediate families, 11 of us. It remains an experience of grace.

When I consider the poem’s descriptions of Wednesday’s and Thursday’s children, my superstitious self says, “Bide your time, little guy. There’s no rush,” even though what Thursday promises and what life delivers in abundance, the opportunity to grow, a journey—and long at that, seems mostly positive.

This morning one of my brothers called to wish us all luck; another showed up unexpectedly at our door yesterday saying, “Give them a squeeze for us,” and my sister? already planning on our joint babysitting, auntie and gamma together from the beginning.

With that in mind, I’ll take a Wednesday’s child. To worry about what woe life predictably delivers can only fade in the face of all this support, all this love.

17 thoughts on “Come What May”

  1. Anticipation…I can feel the excitement growing in you and your family as well. Looking forward to next week’s post when I am sure you will introduce your grandson to the world. Wishing the best for everyone. In checking, I was a Saturday child.

  2. In the end, you will celebrate any day this little miracle decides to join our side of the world. Wishing you not too many more days of waiting and a lifetime of celebrating.

  3. Oh, the excitement of a new life arriving. Whether this child is full of woe or grace or, much more likely, full of everything, the love that already surrounds them is a wonderful gift.

  4. Trish, what a wonderful post. It is so interesting to take the Monday’s Child rhyme into consideration here. What a sweet history Tuesday has for your kids. And a wedding too. (I was actually a Tuesday’s child too, and I remember thinking I wasn’t graceful in the #1 definition of the word.) Yes, a Wednesday’s child, if he comes tomorrow, will be just fine, surrounded by such love! Here’s wishing you and everyone involved all the best for this precious love delivery.

    1. By the way, we didn’t get to Newport. We came to the coast, for a short time in California and then Cannon Beach north. We saw lots of beauty in Oregon–our kids first time here, so that was fun to share it with them. They already want to come back.

  5. What an exciting time for you and your family! I will look forward to hearing about the new arrival maybe next week. I don’t think I ever knew the full week with each child’s qualities. I’m also a Tuesday child.

Leave a comment